Copyright © Abandoned in a Hammock . All rights reserved.


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read
By Mom of 2 teens May 23, 2017
Format: Paperback


Eye opening memoir of the human spirit overcoming extreme adversity. I liken it to David Pelzer's "A Child Called It".

By Philip August 28, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition


Thank you Hector for sharing your story. You've provided insight into the world of child abuse and signs to look for in troubled children. The story provides hope to those that may need it and proves that perseverance pays off as a means of overcoming life's difficulties. I hope that this book provides some enlightenment to the tragedy of child neglect and abuse. It may indeed save lives.

5.0 out of 5 stars A story of victory over adversity
By Todd A. Daniel April 12, 2016
Format: Paperback


Was loaned the book by my friend Barbara who knows Hector and it's a very compelling and sad story, but also a story of accomplishment over incredible adversity. I hope to meet Hector someday and tell him how amazing I think he is!

By Nicole Cabrera May 14, 2017
Format: Paperback
Great read. Inspiring to see how someone can overcome such a painful past. Recommend this book to everyone.

5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Breaker
By Anna Petryniec November 23, 2016
Format: Paperback


It is amazing how he was able to turn his life around, suffer such heartache, abandonment by those who should have loved him, nurtured and protected him but in the end achieves his own success and greatness as a special person.


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
By Amazon Costumer  September 20, 2016
Format: Paperback


Most inspiring book of overcoming ! A must read!


Format: Kindle Edition|  Verified Purchase 
5.0 out of 5 stars Hector Abreu enlightens readers in more than one way.


By Dianne Lauble June 7, 2015


Hector Abreu's story should be read by everyone to open the eyes of us all to the kind of abuse and neglect a child maybe suffering right in our own environments.. His story, though full of unimaginable neglect and abuse, is told with such flow, beauty and even humor that its hard to put down. Most astonishing of all is tha Mr Abreu has chosen to flip all the darkness he experienced into light and not only learn from it himself but help others to do the same Amazing!



By Anne Romano June 8, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|  Verified Purchase


This book will change your life. If you like this book(which I know you will) or not, this book will change your life. You will think about it, and you will talk about it no matter what! If you do read this book make sure your have some tissues near by, and time to truly read this story. It opens your eyes to so many things and makes you think about everything you've ever done and will do. This is a MUST read!


Thought Provoking Book
By Ronald Kon June 8, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition| Verified Purchase


Incredible read, It tugs at your heart to see how an abused child suffers growing up. It's a reality check that there are children each day suffering You will see how this poor, little child gains strength and toward the end of the book takes charge of his life. Once I began to read the story, I couldn't put it down until I finished it the same night I began.


This is a great read. The story line is believable and flows ...
By Steven Fillton June 4, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition| Verified Purchase


This is a great read. The story line is believable and flows along without getting bogged down in massive scenery descriptions or the emotions of the characters. This is a book that keeps me interested, is not difficult to read, makes me smile at times and pulls at my heart strings as I imagine the things similar that have happened in my life.

5.0 out of 5 stars

An excellent addition to my book collection.
By YB February 16, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition| Verified Purchase


Touching true story. Amazing how Hector the author has survived. Easy read and kept me interested from beginning to end.


4.0 out of 5 starsThis is a very personal and courageous narrative that gives ...
By Margie Alarion May 16, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition


This is a very personal and courageous narrative that gives voice to the defenseless and voiceless children who experience different forms of abuse. This is also a story of personal strength and ultimately, the power of spiritual growth. This book is no doubt, hard to read, yet, the reader closes its last page with a sense of redemption and closure. Read it!

5.0 out of 5 stars INSPIRATIONAL!!!
By Ricardo September 20, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition


This book is an inspiration to us all to keep going through our lives with vitality and love. It goes to show you that things can get better when you have determination after undergone abuse and neglect to change your destiny and learn to appreciate your time in this world as it is precious. Hector seems to know this first hand to dust off and keep going.. INSPIRING!!!

5.0 out of 5 starsHe should make a movie like Tina Turner did
By Coco September 19, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition


You will learn what true hapiness is through his life. In this story Hector encourages us that we all can overcome any problems equally and we shouldn't be defeated, no matter what. He should make a movie like Tina Turner did. Also, his story should be translated by foreign languages.